The 28th annual Linden Postcard Show winners announced

23 November 2018 – 10 February 2019

Linden New Art is proud to announce the winners of the 28th annual small works exhibition, Linden Postcard Show 2018-19, now open at Linden New Art’s freshly renovated St Kilda home.

The challenging task of considering nearly 1000 brilliant small artworks fell on the shoulders of three independent judges including; Penny Teale, Curator, Bunjil Place, Lucie McIntosh, Artistic Director and Chair, Blindside and Byrony Nainby, Director, Benalla Art Gallery.


After careful deliberation, the judges chose the following winners:

Linden Postcard Show First Prize ($5000 cash, supported by an Anonymous Donor)

William Eicholtz, Under The Topiary-Minotaur, 2018, (pictured).


Elwood Community Bank Artistic Encouragement Award ($1500 cash prize, supported by the Elwood Community Bank, a branch of Bendigo Bank)

David Apostol, Untitled 0665 33/A, 2018.


Palais Theatre Creativity Award ($1000 cash prize, supported by Palais Theatre)

Steve Glover, Inward Bound 2, 2018, oil on canvas.


Member for Albert Park Local Artist Award ($600 cash prize & image used on a greeting card for use in the electorate, supported by the Member for Albert Park, the Hon. Martin Foley MP)

James Raju, Across The Tracks, 2018.


Eckersley’s Art & Craft Best Landscape in Show ($500 voucher for art materials, supported by Eckersley’s Art & Craft)

Steffie Wallace, Desert Dawn, Central Australia 2, 2018, oil on wood.


The judges said about the winning work: “The artist showed high craftsmanship and unconventional use of materials, with interesting references to art history to provide a fresh and playful interpretation of old themes.”


All of the works are available for sale, so visitors can find a great gift or personal purchase.

Photo credit: William Eicholtz, Under The Topiary – Minotaur, 2018. Image courtesy of the artist. Photograph by Theresa Harrison Photography.


Linden Postcard Show 2018-19

Linden New Art, 26 Acland Street, St Kilda 3182

Closes: Sunday 10 February 2019