Entries open to determine the world’s best roasters at the 2021 Australian International Coffee Awards

The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV) is pleased to announce that entries are now open for the 2021 Australian International Coffee Awards (AICA).

First held in 2013, the AICA are recognised as Australia’s premier international coffee roasting and cold brew competition seeing support from across the globe. 

Now in its ninth year, the AICA provide the world’s best roasters with the opportunity to credibly benchmark their products, receive invaluable industry feedback from a panel of more than 40 leading industry experts and drive immediate sales.

RASV CEO, Brad Jenkins is very pleased that the Australian International Coffee Awards can proceed in 2021, as the industry highly value the Awards as a platform to improve quality and inspire innovation.

“The Australian International Coffee Awards conducted by the Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria attracts roasteries and roasters from around the world because it offers a valuable opportunity to benchmark against industry standards and ultimately continue to improve quality and inspire innovation and new trends”, stated Mr Jenkins.

Overseen by a highly skilled Industry Advisory Group, the AICA is shaped by the trends in the coffee industry and consumer demand for style and variety. 

RASV Manager, Category Growth and Development, Damian Nieuwesteeg was thrilled to announce that the Coffee Awards would be going ahead in 2021. 

“With the Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria successfully staging the Australian International Beer Awards last month, we are confident that the Australian International Coffee Awards too can be delivered safely for participants and the judges.”

“To minimise the potential impact of ongoing COVID-19 restrictions, in particular interstate travel, the panel will comprise mostly Victorian-based coffee experts who will bring the skills, knowledge, experience and, most importantly, a passion for celebrating excellence in coffee roasting and cold brewing”, Damian said.

The AICA is overseen by a highly skilled Industry Advisory Group, with members including Melissa Caia from the Coffee Academy at William Angliss Institute, Dean Slade of Xtracted Espresso Solutions, coffee consultant Adam Metelmann, and Georgia Major from H. A. Bennett & Sons. 

The Industry Advisory Group works closely with RASV to develop and shape the future direction of the AICA and have this year introduced some innovative changes to the program.  

“Several exciting changes have been introduced for the 2021 Australian International Coffee Awards, including the division of the Champion Espresso Trophy into two to recognise the differences between single origin and blend espressos. There will now be a Champion Espresso – Blend Trophy, and a Champion Espresso – Single Origin Trophy. 

“These category changes ensure the Australian International Coffee Awards are at the forefront of industry trends, production techniques and consumer interest”, concluded Mr. Nieuwesteeg. 

Roasters whose product is scored highly by the judges earn the right to display an Australian International Coffee Awards seal of excellence and gain access to an exclusive medal winners’ marketing and promotions toolkit.

Judging will take place from Monday 9 August – Wednesday 11 August Melbourne Showgrounds in Victoria, with the trophy winners to be announced on International Coffee Day on Friday 1 October in the MasterChef Pavilion at the 2021 Royal Melbourne Show.

Coffee roasters are encouraged to get their entries in early to be part of this prestigious program. 

Entries for the competition close on Friday 16 July 2021. For more information or to enter online visit https://www.rasv.com.au/australian-international-coffee-awards/

Key Dates 

Entries Open: until Friday 16 July

Judging: Monday 9 August – Wednesday 11 August

Awards Presentation: Friday 1 October 

Stay up to date with the latest developments and engage with AICA on Facebook and Instagram: Instagram @RASofVic 


About the AICA

The Australian International Coffee Awards (AICA) is the only international roasting competition in Australia, receiving 800 entries from 172 roasters representing 17 countries in 2020, including coffees from Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Singapore, Canada, America and the UK.

The AICA, now in their ninth year, are part of the prestigious program of awards run by The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV), including the Royal Melbourne Wine Awards and the Australian International Beer Awards.

A team of more than 40 judges will blind-taste over 1,700 cups of coffee between them over 3 days of judging.  Judges score traits such as taste, flavour, body, balance and after-taste. 

A team of seven baristas will make each coffee to competition specifications, including the type of equipment used, water temperature and volume, and brew time.

Medals and Best in Class trophies will be awarded for categories such as best single origin espresso, milk-based coffee, alternative-based coffee, filter coffee and cold brew coffee with major trophies awarded to the Champion Direct Trade or Microlot Coffee, Champion Australian Roaster and Champion International Roaster.

About the RASV 

The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV), is a member-based, not-for-profit organisation that was formed in 1848 and the purpose is to celebrate agriculture, cultivate events and strengthen communities.

Our vision is for the RASV to be globally recognised as a seal of excellence, highly valued for:

• Showcasing food and beverage, produce and producers

• Presenting premier events, including but not limited to the Royal Melbourne Show

• Activating and creating vibrant event spaces at Melbourne Showgrounds