The 27th annual Linden Postcard Show winners announced!

10 November 2017 – 12 January 2018


Linden New Art is proud to announce the winners of the 27th annual small works exhibition, Linden Postcard Show 2017-18, now open at their temporary home Domain House until Friday 12 January 2018.


The testing task of assessing over 1000 fantastic small artworks fell on the shoulders of three independent judges including Mardi Nowak, Director, NETS Victoria, Vanessa Gerrans, Director, Warrnambool Art Gallery and Danny Lacy, Senior Curator, Mornington Penninsula Regional Gallery.


After careful deliberation, the judges chose the following winners:


Linden Postcard Show First Prize ($5000 cash, supported by an Anonymous Donor): Penny Byrne, Terror Plot Foiled, 2017, mixed media (pictured).

Linden New Art Board Postcard Award ($2000 cash & image reproduced on a postcard, supported by the Board of Linden New Art Inc.): Robert Fenton, The Last Landscape, Item #0017, 2017, oil on hardwood.

Elwood Community Bank Artist Encouragement Award ($1500 cash, supported by Elwood Community Bank, a branch of Bendigo Bank): Maria Colaidis, Untitled (desolation), 2017, photograph.

Eckersleys Art & Craft Best Portrait Award ($1000 Eckersley’s voucher & a $500 hamper, suppoerted by Eckersley’s Art & Craft): Clare Rose, Paloma, 2017, acrylic on wood.

Member for Albert Park Award ($600 cash & image used on a greeting card for the member, supported by the Member for Albert Park, the Hon. Martin Foley MP): Janet Drury, Expedient Exaggeration, 2017, oil on canvas.


The judges said about the winning work: “This work is a playful meditation on media-saturated issues. A great use of materials and beautifully constructed, this work was seen to be both poignant and playful.”


All of the works are available for sale, so visitors can find a great gift or personal purchase.


Photo credit: Penny Byrne, Terror Plot Foiled, 2017, mixed media.


Linden Postcard Show 2017-18

Domain House, Dallas Brooks Drive, South Yarra

Closes: Friday 12th January 2018